MFT Camp Create 2017 – Glitzy Glitter

20170617_143151.jpg

Hellooo…

Here’s my entry for MFT Camp Create 2017 – Glitzy Glitter.

It’s too bad my phone camera couldn’t capture the true beauty of the glitter! The glitter was gifted to me (the pot was partially used), and has an opal-like glimmer to it.

When die cutting a detailed die like this one, you may have better results if you use a shim (I used a metal shim).

For the glitter layer, I used Versamark ink and spread it all over the Bristol Vellum. I had made some DIY glitter embossing powder (I combined clear embossing powder with the gorgeous glitter), then heat embossed, and then die cut it.

For the blue layer, I ink blended two colors of Distress Inks on Bristol Vellum, and then die cut it.

I saved the negatives from both for a future project.

I had been planning to make 2 cards (with one die cut on each card), but then realized I could layer the two die cuts on top of each other. I glued only them together on the edges only using Ranger Multi Medium Matte. It’s especially stunning layered over a dark cardstock.

I had seen Jennifer McGuire’s post on layered die cuts (like the Birch Press dies), and loved them, but it’s not currently in my craft budget to purchase a layering die set. What I used were both the same die cut shape, it’s just that one is right side up, and the other is upside down. Maybe you could try this with a background die in your stash?

Supplies:

  • Strathmore Bristol Vellum
  • Distress Inks (Cracked Pistachio and Peacock Feathers)
  • MFT Dainty Scallop Cover Up Die
  • DIY glitter embossing powder (Stampendous Clear + Rubber Stampede glitter)
  • Ranger Multi Medium Matte

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

